If visiting the historic town of Chewton, you can enjoy a number of scenic walks which take in a number of historical sites:
Post Office Hill Walk
Duration: Approximately 2 hours
Post Office Hill is a remnant gold-rush landscape. Post Office Hill was named after the original post office which was built on a spur of a hill that ran down Forest Creek. Once clothed in natural vegetation it was practically denuded during the 1852 goldrush when thousands flocked to the Forest Creek Diggings to make their fortune. It quickly became the economic hub of Forest Creek goldfield before a fire at the end of 1853 gutted Post Office Square.
Evolution continues as the modern world now surrounds the site but this community managed 22.6 hectare reserve in the centre of Chewton has plenty to explore. There is no formal walking track, but walkers can explore the area and locate the rock wells, the stone arch, the former “New Francis Ormond mine” site, the foundations of the Post Office Hill mine machinery, the denuded reef lines and even locate the former Chewton Railway Station site.
For maps and info click here.
Burns Hill walk
Duration: 1 hour
Park the car at the Monster Meeting Site in Chewton to commence this walk. After crossing the flat from the Monster Meeting site to the small hill opposite, almost the first feature encountered is a Cornish chimney running up the slope of Burns Hill. There was once a patch of quartz workings on the crown of Burn’s Hill, comprising open-cutting and shafts. The Golden Point water race which fed the Garfield Water Wheel travels around the slope of the hill. Below the water race on the side of New Chum Gully is a battery site. The remains consist of a well-built stone chimney stack base. A square flue runs downhill from the stack. It has stone sides and is capped with slabs of stone. The flue runs downhill some 30m to a boiler setting, only the rear of which survives above ground level.